Skip to main content

Checklist Security Groups

Written by Arthur Ashdown

Checklist security groups are used to limit access to certain checklist types to certain groups of users. When creating or editing a checklist type, one of the options is to select which security groups will have access to it. Users not belonging to at least one of the selected security groups will not be able to see checklists of that type.

The purpose of this functionality is to hide checklists from users to whom they are irrelevant – for example, a contracts manager has no need to see any checklists other than “Contracts Manager Check” checklists. On this screen, you can create, modify and delete checklist security groups.

You can see the list of users or user groups assigned to a group by hovering the number in the grid.


Creating a Checklist Security Group

  1. Click the + Add New Group button above the grid. This opens the Add Security Group window.

    Graphical user interface, text, applicationDescription automatically generated

  2. Enter a name for the security group in the Name field.

  3. Optionally enter a description of the security group in the Description field.

  4. Click

    to save the security group and return to the Checklist Security Groups grid or click

    to open the Add Group Members window and begin adding users to the group.


Adding Users to a Checklist Security Group

  1. If you did not click

    when creating the security group, you can open the Add Group Members window by clicking the pencil icon

    in the Actions column in the grid.

    Graphical user interface, application, TeamsDescription automatically generated

  2. Use the Users tab to add individual users and the Groups tab to add whole user groups to the security group. To add a single user or user group, click the plus button

    and select them from the drop-down list. To add multiple users or user groups at once, click to open the drop-down list above the plus button, then tick the boxes next to the users or user groups you wish to add.

    Graphical user interface, text, applicationDescription automatically generated
    Graphical user interface, text, application, emailDescription automatically generated

  3. To remove a user or user group, click the “x” next to their name on the list.

    Graphical user interface, text, application, chat or text messageDescription automatically generated

  4. Click

    to save the users to the group.


Modifying a Checklist Security Group

In-line editing is enabled for the Checklist Security Groups grid. To edit the name or description of a group, click the cell in the Name or Description column, make your edit and then click elsewhere on the screen to save. To edit the users assigned to a group, click the pencil icon

in the Actions column.


Deleting a Checklist Security Group

Checklist security groups can only be deleted if they are not in use on any checklist types, checklist template sections or checklist template items. If a security group is specified on at least one type, section or item, attempting to delete it will return an error message.

  1. Click the bin icon

    in the Actions column. If the group can be deleted, you will receive a warning message asking if you are sure.

    Graphical user interface, text, application, emailDescription automatically generated

  2. Click

    to confirm.

Did this answer your question?